Choose Country close
rightchevron rightchevron Swipe to move between articles

Mohamed Salah is Premier League king with PFA’s player of the year award

Premier League
Published on 23/04/2018
Mohamed Salah's wonderful season continued on Sunday night, winning the Professional Footballers’ Association player of the year.

The Egyptian has hit 41 goals in all competitions this season and on Saturday equalled the record for number of goals, 31, in a 38-game Premier League season.

Salah saw off Manchester City trio Kevin De Bruyne, Leroy Sané and David Silva and Harry Kane, as he became only the second African player to win the award.

Sane won the young player of the year award.

Chelsea's Fran Kirby won the women's award while Bristol City’s Lauren Hemp was named young player of the year.

The PFA’s Merit award went posthumously to West Brom legend Cyrille Regis.

Mohamed Salah and Fran Kirby named PFA players of the year

Add to your phone's home screen to keep up to date with all the latest football news and transfer gossip from England, Scotland and beyond.

Follow us on Twitter @football__wire and on Facebook at

Never miss the Football Wire latest

Get the Top 5 stories delivered by Email